MISCARRIAGE: A Tragic Eviction (Part 1 of 11)


It was September 12 when our long wait was over! Our four years of waiting for a baby number 2 ended! Yep! My home pregnancy tests showed positive results, and I did 4! Hehe. 

My first ultrasound happened in September 15. My then OB confirmed the presence of gestational and yolk sac, but no heartbeat yet. I was 6 weeks on the way, based on my last menstrual period. Ultrasonic age is less than 5 weeks. Ultrasonic age = baby’s age based on ultrasound. She asked me to come back a week after. 

September 22. 

Ultrasound still didn’t show a heartbeat, but both the yolk and gestational sac were growing and developing. Ultrasonic age was at 6 weeks. started getting nervous. 
ANEMBRYONIC GESTATION and BLIGHTED OVUM kept running on my mind. What are those, anyway? It is a situation wherein the egg and sperm cell met, but never developed, will never develop and will end eventually. Kapraning, no? 

September 25. 

I had vaginal spotting. Husband rushed me to SLMC GC ER. Blood and diagnostic tests showed negative results, bleeding was passive. Was told that spotting could be implantaion bleeding. Diagnosed with threatened abortion. I was sent home, placed on a complete bed rest and progesterone, lots of it. I was scheduled to do a follow up check up with Dra. Jing Fernandez of SLMC GC CARMI. 

September 27. 
My ultrasound showed no difference. Growing gestational and yolk sac, no embryo, no heartbeat. Ultrasonic age remained at 6 weeks. My OB already semi-prepared me to just wait for the pregnancy to end, naturally. At the same time, we both waited for one more week. We’re still positive of the viablity of the egg inside my womb. 
October 5. 

Finally! My ultrasound showed a FETAL POLE! There already was a heartbeat! My baby’s heartbeat registered 76 beats per minute, normal is 100 (for the age). We were diagnosed with FETAL BRADYCARDIA. Bradycardia = very low heartbeat. My bed rest was extended, the progesterone, increased. 

October 8. 

I had a scary heavy bleeding. I was again rushed to the ER. Dra Jing ordered that I be transferred to the High Risk Pregnancy Unit for close monitoring. My bleeding was already active. Ultrasound showed a nerve wracking result – fetal heartbeat dropped to 70 beats per minute, subchorionic hemorrhage was noted. My uterine tissues were starting to detach, but my baby was still struggling to live. My body was already saying no, but my baby says otherwise. My progesterone , folic, multivitamins, and ascorbic were tripled. I was placed on a CBR no BRP, complete bed rest with no bathroom privilege. 
My bleeding did not stop. I was bargaining with the Lord, hard. There were a lot of tears and prayers. 

October 11. 

I started feeling pain both on my lower back and abdomen. I refused to move or even flinch. I already knew what the pain means. My uterus was moving to expel whatever’s inside me. I cried harder, and prayed hardest. At 11:30, I had it. I had the mass out. Dra Jing asked me to place it in a specimen bottle with 70% isoprophyl.

October 12. 

Wala na. My ultrasound showed a clean uterus, closed cervix. Completed abortion. 
I was pregnant for a month. Had 6 transvaginal ultrasound. In between, I also had flu. I had conjunctivitis. I had cough. I had colds. I had tooth abscess. I was very immunocompromised. 

There. Sakit. 😥

Leave a Reply

