Threatened Abortion (Part 4 of 11)


You know I’ve been wanting for this pregnancy to happen, right? Imagine my, no, our terror last September 25, when I found out I had vaginal spotting. 

I woke up feeling lighter and better that day. Since I have been in (and never out of flu since the day I found out I was preggers), I was happy. I took advantage of the semi-wellness that I was feeling. After cooking breakfast, Enzo and I reviewed her lessons and did her homeworks. We also did some fixing and decluttering. Then I cooked lunch! Yep, my love-hate relationship with the scent of hot cooking oil kinda subsided that day. Rodriguez Family had shrimp tempura! 

It was my nephew’s birthday that day (and Tita Eva, ofcourse!). We have a scheduled family dinner to celebrate that, and my FIL’s birthday last 23rd. At around 1:30, I was about to take a bath because I thought I can grab some nap before mass then the dinner. 

Then there was it. My undies had blood spots. Lots of it. I was horrified. I wanted to cry and shout but I have to gather my thoughts first. After few deep breaths and tears, I went out of the bathroom and calmly told my husband (verbatim): “Daddy, pagkaligo ko, maligo ka na din, dalhin mo akong ospital. Nag spotting ako.”

Walang trace ng kahit na ano. In no time, husband’s done! I asked my SIL to accompany my daughter to the 3PM children’s mass, and then we’ll try to meet them for dinner. TRY. 

I was very honest with Enzo. I told her why her dad and I were going to the hospital. She was very understanding. As usual.

Luck was on our side, kasi we did not encounter any red light on our way to the hospital. The usual travel time from Pateros to SLMC GC is 30-45 minutes. It only took us 15 minutes that day.

Sa ER, ang damiiiiiiiing pasyente! For the lack of better term, may ‘konting’ saya na ang daming patron ng St Luke’s. Ang mahal-mahal ng services nila, ha! And seeing a numerous patients, maraming Pinoy pa din ang ‘can afford’. PLEASE DO NOT GET ME WRONG, I know that’s nowhere near sa dami din ng patients sa government hospitals. Yun lang.

Going back, after 1.5 hours of waiting patiently, a physician appeared with a nurse and a wheelchair, asked me to come with them so I can lie down for all the examinations. The doctor was making ‘sermon’ the nurse that they should’ve asked me to lie down kanina pa kasi dapat naisip na nilang possible abortion, blahblahblah. Husband and I kept exchanging glances. Poor nurse, the doc should’ve done that when I was already away. 

Urinalysis and CBC were ordered. The OB was ruling out UTI. Yun na daw yung mildest or safest infection na pwedeng mag cause ng spotting / bleeding, aside sa implantation bleeding. I was starting to like her, dahil sa ganung explanation.

Pagpasok ko ng examination room…
To be continued…

Leave a Reply

