Karen, the Baon Lover


I am a baon lover 
When my siblings and I were still in gradeschool, mama won’t prepare us lunch for baon.
Instead, she’ll ask our household help to bring us a stove-fresh, hot baon of our choice.
We’ll have sinigang, nilaga, adobo – hot!
Our steamed rice, too!
Sometimes, our household help will even bring us plates and glasses instead of eating in a lunch box.
Our classmates envy that.
We get to eat lutong-bahay dishes, hot, and delicious!
That practice continued until we were in highschool.
Never did I feel ashamed of waiting for our helper at the guard house during lunch breaks.
When I was in college, I was able to carry the practice of bringing my own food.
With a limited allowance (boy, I was only given 150.00 until 3rd year!), baon is really my life saver.
Besides, I never was comfortable of eating hospital food (De Los Santos-STI’s canteen is located at the hospital basement).
Though I still get to try the canteen food at FEU, it’s still different when you bring the food that you want.
When I started working, I STILL bring my baon. 
I didn’t care carrying that black lunch bag over my shoulder while walking in the busy streets of Makati 😀
I didn’t care carrying that black lunch bag over my shoulder while walking in the busy streets of Bonifacio High Street 😀
I didn’t care carrying that black lunch bag over my shoulder / my lap while travelling from Manila to the far away land of Guiguinto, Bulacan.
When I became Mrs. Rodriguez, I lovingly and patiently prepared meals for le husband as our baon.
We both enjoyed it.
Tipid na, masarap pa.
“Hindi ako nahiya at nahihiya magdala ng baunan. Dapat mainggit ang mga tao sa akin kasi may luxury of time tayo magluto, at may babaunin tayo.” – Husband
I still bring my baon until now.
It varies from left-over dinner to simple fried dish to saucy meats to canned goods. Haha.
With my husband’s work, I can only send him snacks, but not much of lunch.
Which is fine.
There.
I had Cream Dory in Oriental Sauce with Thai Pechay and Toasted Garlic for lunch.
How bout you?

Leave a Reply

