Prayer


In highschool, we were taught with the prayer model – ACTS.

A – adoration
C – confession
T – thanksgiving
S – supplication / intercession

I don’t see anything wrong with the model. The problem most of the time, is, we only come to ask and pray for His help when we are in dire need. We tend to forget to thank, to adore and to confess. Worse, after our prayer has been heard, we don’t say thank you anymore.

Anyway, I do not want to be a pseudo-prophet discussing religion wih this post. I just want to share what I’ve learned from a conversation with Enzo’s nanny, Tita Eva.

We were nannyless for two weeks (she’s back to work since Monday) because her brother had a mild stroke and she has to attend to him (the story deserves another post)

It was March of last year when her husband had a stroke, too. Kuya Rodel was confined in the ICU for a week. I have to file for a leave for 10 days so I can attend to my daughter.

Last month, her mother-in-law was also confined in the ICU due to kidney failure.

Everybody’s fine now. Kuya Rodel was cleared from his maintenance, because his BP is already stabilized. Tita Eva’s MIL can already move around, and is slowly recovering. Her brother is undergoing physical therapy.

She made it through by praying. Her entire family prays the holy rosary every night, before going to bed. They never failed to attend mass on Sundays and on days of obligation.

According to her, she lifts all her issues and problems to the Lord, always. She prays for strength and courage, guidance and enlightenment.

Sabi niya, hindi naman daw sa ipinapa-sa Diyos niya lagi lahat. Nasa Diyos ang awa, nasa tao ang gawa.

What an attitude.
I’m very impressed.
They may not be rich with money or material wealth, but they are very blessed.

It’s not that we don’t pray that’s why I’m very impressed with her. I am a devotee of St. Jude Thaddeus, and a believer of the Black Nazarene, Sts. Francis & Claire of Assisi, and The Sacred Heart of Jesus. When I married my husband, I was introduced to their faith to Santa Martha and San Roque. It’s just that it amazes me that no matter how huge their problem is, their entire family can stand and hold hands together and tell their problems this: ‘our God is bigger than you, we’re sure we need not worry.’

Tita Eva must be God’s way of letting us know that He will always be there for us. She has inspired me in so many ways. Her life’s lessons will always be cherished by my husband and I.

We thank God for bringing Tita Eva into our lives, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

