my latest NORTHRAIL misery


There’s a lot of things to share.
A lot of things happened to me.
I’ll try to recall each and every detail.
I’ll try to write with all fairness.
I’ll try.
Just try.

On March 28, our Company President, announced, that there will be a temporary work suspension for NORTHRAIL due to a lot of anomalies. I don’t think I am in the position to discuss the said anomalies, but you can do your research, people! you can read them from the papers, google our company, read from forums, you’ll read it all there!

Everyone in the office became totally very anxious, and worried about the security of their tenure. Most of us are just project based, and our contract says that the company may terminate our services if identified that we are no longer needed by the project. Alright, I understand.

On April 14, finally, the memos and notifications were issued. I was one of the employees who received a memo saying that due to the temporary work suspension, they need to lay my services off. My initial reaction? I CRIED. Cried really hard. It was a very, very sad and painful moment. I knew how hard it was for Ma’am Nitz, Sen, Richard and Sir Gem. I suddenly recalled all the memories, good and bad.

I rendered my last day of work on April 29, 2011. No, I did not cry anymore. But, I was a bit frustrated.

DO 13 is like a bible to me. I am pretty confident that I know the ins and outs of it. I know most of the provisions of that law. I know when and where it was printed. The clearly says that for a HAZARDOUS WORKPLACE, the company who has more than 50, but less than 99 employees, should have a full time service of a registered nurse. NORTHRAIL now has 92 employees from 167 (basta, 70 were laid off). One of the bosses said that they can not consider NORTHRAIL as hazardous because construction’s been halted. Okay, granted, however, for non-hazardous workplace with more than 50 employees, a service of a First Aider is needed, and NR does not have one. Yes?

Second reason of frustration. I am the company’s HEALTH OFFICER, a member of the HSE, but functioning as a Company Nurse (Health, Safety and Environment, EHS or QEHSS for others). When the bosses made the list of those who will be laid off (or those whose service are deemed no longer needed), I was included. They are telling me that the Health Officer is not yet needed since there will be no activities on site. I don’t know what happened to my duties as a Company Nurse.

Third reason of frustration. I belong to the HRMO (Human Resources Management Office). Our department is supposed to know the latest information about employee relations, right? We never knew anything. We only depend on here-says and gossips. We were always the last to know.

Fourth, it hurts to know that the person you expect to defend you, failed. It hurts to actually hear a superior say, “I’m sorry, alam ko nagkamali ako, hindi kita nadepensahan, babawi ako kapag natapos na yung gulo.”

For what? Para kalamayin ang kalooban ko?
The damage has been done, sirS.

Sabi sa Article 286 ng Labor Code of the Philippines,

Art. 286. When employment not deemed terminated. The bona-fide suspension of the operation of a business or undertaking for a period not exceeding six (6) months, or the fulfillment by the employee of a military or civic duty shall not terminate employment. In all such cases, the employer shall reinstate the employee to his former position without loss of seniority rights if he indicates his desire to resume his work not later than one (1) month from the resumption of operations of his employer or from his relief from the military or civic duty.

Owwwwwwwwwwwwwkei. 6 months.

I am blessed I need not worry for our finances. My husband can take care of that. How about the other rank and file employee who considers NR as their bread and butter? Ang saklap! How about the driver who goes home at 2 in the morning because of work, was laid off, and was told that his service is no longer needed?

On my last week, I was told to turn things over to my colleagues. I tried. really hard. I was bugging Sir Jun if how, to whom, and when should I turn over the medicines, my medical equipments, my first aid knowledge?

How in the world would I tell a non-medical personnel on how to render first aid to a hypertensive patient? HOW WOULD I IMPART MY KNOWLEDGE, WHICH I WORKED MY ASS OUT SO HARD FOR 4 YEARS in a week’s time?

Good thing Richard is patient enough to read my notes. I’ve printed all the medicines I’ve had in my medicine box, including the generic name, brand name, physical description, indications, contraindications, things to look out for. I reassured Sir Jun on how to read blood pressures.

So far, I’ve moved on. I am enjoying my status as a full time (paid) housewife.

I enjoy sipping, not gulping my coffee in the morning.

I enjoy bathing my Enzo.

I enjoy cooking our dinner at 5PM!

I enjoy watching Showtime and  Eat Bulaga.

I enjoy Enzo and I’s siesta in the afternoon.

I enjoy every minute of my stay at home.

Thanks to NORTHRAIL.

Thanks for this very wonderful vacation!

I don’t know if I’ll ever receive a call from you again on the ‘5th’ month.

For now, I pray that may all of YOU sleep tightly, peacefully, and sweetly – dapat yung matatalo niyo ako, ha!

Again, everything written here are all my opinion. For violent reactions, you may write your own article. For questions, feel free to send me an email through KBRodriguez1120@gmail.com, my response is subject to my husband’s approval. haha.

Till my next post!

Leave a Reply

