WE SHOUT JUSTICE FOR A COUSIN WHO WAS SHOT DEAD LAST NIGHT.


WE SHOUT JUSTICE FOR A COUSIN WHO WAS SHOT DEAD LAST NIGHT.

Rommel, the eldest among a brood of three, was shot dead last night while parking his tricycle at their backyard in Bangued, Abra. Rommel is my Aunt Lina’s son, while Aunt Lina is mama’s youngest sister.

Rommel is a few months older than I. That makes him 25 and xxx months.

He got married to Mylene when they were only 20 years old, had a baby girl.

Mylene was my Enzo’s very first nanny, though she has to leave us after 3 weeks because Aunt Lina suffered from mild stroke (Aunt Lina took over Mylene when she went to Manila to work).

Going back to Rommel, we grew up together.

During our vacays in the province, he was one of those who’d hide my slippers so I can’t go out of the house (ayaw nila ako paligawan sa mga tao sa probinsiya!).

My other older male cousins will do the same.

They’d piggy-back carry me if I wanted to go out.

That lasted until I was already in high school.

Rommel is the family’s bread winner.

He only finished high school due to financial constraints.

Look, Abra is a very poor province ( I assume you’ve seen and watched in the television).

However, people are happy. They are content on whatever they have there.

Ever since her mom got sick, and his father retired (he was a soldier), he, Rommel, took all the responsibilities.

He never took his parents and brothers for granted in spite of having his own family.

Due to his diligence, he was able to buy his own tricycle which he uses to earn a living.

It was already his own.

He never had any vices – no smoking, no drinking, doesn’t know how to fight (I remember my male cousins being in trouble because one of Rommel’s classmates bullied him, all of my aunts and uncles’ attention was called by the school principal).

Masinop siyang tao.

Everyone’s guessing that’s the motive behind his death.

Inggit.

People was so envious of him.

He earns well, he owns the tryke, he doesn’t have a boss, he holds his time.

He’s one blessed guy, I must say.

I am really saddened on this news.

Mama was crying when she called me last night.

She was very worried on my Aunt Lina’s health condition.

I told her, that her panicking won’t help.

I pray that the suspect be arrested soon.

I pray for Aunt Lina’s health and strength for Mylene and their daughter.

I pray for his soul’s eternal repose.

One thought on “WE SHOUT JUSTICE FOR A COUSIN WHO WAS SHOT DEAD LAST NIGHT.

Leave a Reply

